Bredon Hancock's Endowed

C of E First School

Dream, Believe, Love, Work, Achieve!

Early Years Information


Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage ( EYFS ) covers the

learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old



The EYFS framework sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well, are kept healthy and safe and have the knowledge and skills they need to start school.


The 7 areas of learning and development are:

Communication and Language.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Physical Development.



Understanding the World.

Expressive Arts and Design.


The Characteristics of Effective Learning describe behaviours children use in order to learn. To learn well, children must approach opportunities with curiosity, energy and enthusiasm. Effective learning must be meaningful to a child, so that they are able to use what they have learned and apply it in new situations.


Playing and exploring:

Children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’.

Children who actively participate in their own play develop a larger store of information and experiences to draw on which positively supports their learning.

Active learning:

Children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties.

They are proud of their own achievements.

For children to develop into self-regulating, lifelong learners they are required to take ownership, accept challenges and learn persistence.

Creating and thinking critically:

Children develop their own ideas and make links between these ideas.

They think flexibly and rationally, drawing on previous experiences which help them to solve problems and reach conclusions.